Hateful Burden is a gaslight-era paranormal horror novel as well as a psychological thriller where friends and foes are not always what they seem. In this dark urban fantasy, paranormal powers are bred and collected.

Lady Ramillia Winmoore, daughter of the Earl of Brooksberry, has suffered from gaps in her memory her entire life. But this darkness is a blessing. Whenever she feels threatened, it takes over and protects her from feeling pain or even the slightest bit of discomfort. That is until the day she awakens strapped to an examining table at the West Freeman Asylum for Lunatics. 

Imprisoned for the gruesome murder of her parents, Ramillia learns she has lost ten months to the darkness. Forced to endure years of torturous treatments in a grimy, hidden cell, salvation arrives in the form of a benefactor named Sir Julian Lawrence. Betrothed to her through an arranged marriage, he helps her gain freedom.

But appearances are deceiving and soon Ramillia learns the cost she must pay. The horrors she encounters in his household are far worse than the asylum when he inducts her into a society of blood-thirsty, cruel immortals. Soon she is forced to join them and accept their way of life. 

Now Ramillia must break free of a prison she cannot see, kill an enemy that cannot die, and find a daughter that she cannot remember—all with the help of an ally she does not know. Who is Sally and can she be trusted? Is this mysterious and frightening woman trying to save her or is she planning on saving Ramillia for herself?

Hateful Burden by author Natalie Gibson is the first book in The Carrier Trilogy.
Hateful Burden by author Natalie Gibson is the first book in The Carrier Trilogy.
It is obvious that the author did quite some reading about the time period in which the story takes place as the little details are believable and create a coherent world. It's a joy to read the descriptions because clearly Natalie Gibson put care and attention into everything. The story moves from one point to the next fluidly, and keeps you interested in what will happen next. 
Readers' Favorite

"If you make just one New Year's resolution, let it be to read 'Hateful Burden.' Don't make any other plans, once you start you won't put it down until the last word is read.
Charlotte Foreman

"Gibson's talent for mind-bending, vivid, and bizarre storytelling is nothing short of extraordinary."
Katie Jennings Award-winning Author of  So Fell the Sparrow
Acclaim and praise for The Carrier series
Evil has no face...
Join author Natalie Gibson on Facebook and get up-to-the-minute information on new books, promotions and special events.
The official website for Natalie Gibson, author of the Carrier Trilogy, Sinnis Series and Mount Haven Quickies.
The Carrier Trilogy is a gaslight-era paranormal horror series by Natalie Gibson. In this psychological thriller, friends and foes are not always what they seem. Be sure to get Hateful Burden, book one in the series.
The Books of Sinnis are a Paranormal Erotic Romance/Urban Fantasy series by Natalie Gibson written for mature readers only.
The Fan Page is designed as a way for Natalie Gibson to give back to her loyal readers. Don't miss the freebies and special fun items designed especially for her fans!
All about author Natalie Gibson.
© 2018 Natalie Gibson. All rights reserved.
Purchase:   Amazon   Barnes & Noble   Kobo   iTunes   Google Play
                    Books-A-Million   Waterstones   Overdrive